First Few Days in Rabat

After almost 48 hours of travel on 3 different continents and 6 different airports, I have finally arrived in Rabat…. however without my luggage.

As many of you who are following my travels know (TL;DR Air France on strike, flights rerouted) instead of leaving at a civilized hour like 12:30, we ended up on a 6am flight… On United. When we got to the check in, the agent told us that while we were booked for the correct flight, we had booked through Delta so they could not check us in. However after much pleading with the travel agent and the gate agent, they finally let us on.

Everything was going great from there- long layover in Chicago, long layover in Amsterdam, long layover in Spain, bags arrived in Spain- however in Spain our luck turned Kate-ish (Kate is a friend of mine with the worst travel luck… Hi Kate) The flight to Casablanca from Madrid was delayed by 30 minutes and we had a super tight connection in Casablanca to Rabat. When we arrived in Casa, I literally sprinted through the airport, through security again, knocked over an old women on the way (oops), and somehow managed to make the flight. However, my bags were kinda heavy and couldn’t run keep up (read: airport baggage handlers were slow and the pilot really REALLY wanted to leave). As a result, my bag is now missing. (Update: bag is currently at Rabat airport and should be able to be picked up in the morning. Good thing because I really need to shave)

2014-09-17 22.01.58.jpg
Post-run through Casa airport
After finally arriving and taking a cab to my dad’s hotel, we went to see my flat. After having a hell of a time trying to find it, we found this old dumpy looking building right by the water which was it. At this point I was freaking out because the building has no outside door and horrendous lighting, but once we got into the place, we realized how nice it was. The flat has really nice high ceilings, a large living room, and a huge bathroom. It’ll be a good place. Also did I mention it overlooks the ocean?
2014-09-18 13.23.22.jpg
The view
2014-09-18 18.42.51.jpg
the ugly building

The last couple days have been super busy just running errands and seeing the city. I managed to get a new sim card put in my phone as well as get internet for my laptop. The internet here, unlike Canada, is done on a usb stick which you can reload every 3 months for cheaps. However the internet is significantly slower than back home. Never gonna take fast internet for granted again.

Also I opened a bank account, which is surprisingly difficult, and am in the process of getting my bag back, thank god. Finally, I just wanted to give a major shoutout to everyone who has been in touch and has made sure I’m both alive AND well (you know who you are). It really means so much to me that I have such supportive people in my life.

Right now it’s 1:30am and it’s definitely bedtime,

Until next time :)

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Alcohol Culture in Morocco

I know a bunch of friends from back home wanted me to talk about this in my blog, so this one’s for you. Contrary to popular belief, alcohol is very much legal here in Morocco. The major difference, however, is that consumption is very... Continue →