Moroccan Thanksgiving

Last weekend was Canadian Thanksgiving so a bunch of my international friends and I went out for a really nice dinner of tagines and pastries.

2014-10-10 21.37.06 (1).jpg

Unfortunately, it was not turkey and stuffing, but the company made it all worthwhile. At dinner, my buddy Matt from Virginia suggested we go around and mention what we are thankful for, such is the meaning of the holiday. The answers were surprisingly similar, given we all come from different backgrounds. We were all thankful for each other, for the opportunity to be in Morocco, and for the support we had from back home to make this exchange a reality. I was so touched that my international friends, many of whom didn’t even know Canadians had Thanksgiving, came out to celebrate it with me.

2014-10-13 21.03.08.jpg
Here’s all of us post-dinner

The dinner got me thinking about how lucky I am to be in Morocco, and to be having such a good time here. Some of you know that my second year, especially my second semester, at Queen’s was incredibly difficult. I struggled with my mental heath, my classes, and my friends. Being accepted to go on exchange was one of the few bright spots in an otherwise dark time. Even up to a few days before I left for Morocco, I was incredibly worried about how this exchange would go. Would I survive in a country where I can barely speak the language? Would the people be nice? Would I fit in alright?

I am so happy to note that all my worries were, at least for now, naught. I feel like I have become so much more outgoing, more self-reliant, and much happier since I arrived in Morocco. I am so lucky to have incredible friends here, both local Moroccans and internationals from all corners of the world. I have two wonderful roommates who have been so supportive and easy going. I have tons of support and love from my family and friends back home, who I miss lots. And I have, I believe, my second semester of last year to thank for it.

Haruki Murukami wrote, “And once the storm is over, you won’t remember how you made it through, how you managed to survive. You won’t even be sure, whether the storm is really over. But one thing is certain. When you come out of the storm, you won’t be the same person who walked in. That’s what this storm’s all about.”

This quote really explains how I feel now. Just looking back on what I was like in first and second year- quieter, more immature, less able to take care of myself- and looking at myself now- far more outgoing, more street smart, and emotionally tougher- it’s like night and day.

This year has been so great for me so far, and it is thanks to two major things. The first is the challenges I had last year. They forced me to dig deep within myself to overcome them, and made me a better person. But second, and more importantly, is my friends and family who have been my rock. They’re the major reason I’m here in Morocco now; from supporting me to apply to go on exchange to being there when I felt like my world was falling apart around me. I know I say this often, but I cannot stress enough how much my friends and family mean to me. It is these two things which I am so thankful for this Thanksgiving.

I’m excited to see how the struggles and victories of this year change me going forward. In the meantime, here’s a selfie of me after my Canadian friend #Heather bought me ginger ale- the one thing I’ve been craving from Canada

IMAG1311.jpg

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

First Impressions of Rabat

It’s been just over a week since I arrived in Morocco! Now that I have some bearings (some being the key word) I wanted to share some of the major differences between Canada and Morocco. I wanna give a shoutout to everyone who’s been in... Continue →